Why my heart skipped the beat, I recalled… (Dil Dhadakne Ka Sabab Yaad Aaya)

– Rendition by Ghulam Ali (Youtube)

Translation:

Why my heart skipped the beat, I recalled.
It was your memory that teased me, I recalled.

It is tough today to even brace myself oh friend,
strange is my perplexing state; it’s you who I recalled.

Day was passing already giving some tough time,
and then there’s your promise of evening, I recalled.

Those forgotten promises of devotion of yours,
one would indeed become lifeless, if recalled.

Once again crossed my sight – countless people,
Once more some city of ecstasy, I recalled.

Even I would have revealed the state of heart,
was only by the time you left that I recalled.

Sitting in a shadow of tranquility today “Nasir”,
I cried a lot, of you what I care, I recalled.

– Dedicated to nostalgic memories…

Dil dhadakne ka sabab yaad aya
woh teri yaad thi, ab yaad aaya

aaj mushkil tha sambhalna ae dost
tu musibat mai ajab yaad aaya

din guzara tha badhi mushkil se
phir tera wadah e sham yaad aaya

haal e dil hum bhi sunate lekin
jub woh rukhsat huwa tab yaad aaya

beht ker saya e gul may nasir
hum bohut ro aye woh jub yaad aaya

– Original poetry by Nasir Kazmi; Has been performed by many legendary singers: Noor Jehan, Asha Bhosle, Pankaj Udhas, Shehnaz Begum and Ghulam Ali saheb.

Rendition by: Madam Noor Jehan:

 

Rendition by: Swati Natekar.

Rendition by: Arviand Ram

 

Leave a Reply

