The destiny of a river

This poem is a response to Miss Tayyeba Irum‘s slow burning verse… On the banks of river

Nature-Forest-River-Wallpaper[1]

I am the river,
on the banks of which
stands an endless forest…
of fear, thirst, doubt,
hunger and darkness…

Wind, dew, rain, fog,
and even eyes that behold
contours and tangents…
pass through the dense
before they reach my doorstep.

They tell me,
beasts are my guards
and pines are the sage…
they are to look after me,
save me from intruders,
who misdirect or steer
in different directions…

I am told,
I am to walk along them,
if I am to reach
the farthest…
They have already figured,
it seems,
the outcome of all bends…

Like, how my each step
may play out, and
what would be the pace…
how on to my surroundings,
my flow will leave effect,
how each curve
will be making a difference…

But they miss seeing,
what is desired
by my heart…
uttered by each drop
that exists to make soul whole,
never misplaced…

The passion to break bonds
can never be understood
by those who keep perimeters.
And a desire to surrender,
can never be fulfilled
by the spectators.

Love me all you want,
adore me for my imperfections,
compliment me for my fierceness,
and accompany me to decorate a canvas…

But know this…
Rivers are meant not to be guarded,
they’re destined to merge into the ocean!

– Dedicated to the rivers…

Ocean_Waterfall[1]

Image Credits:

1. River Forest (wallpaper)
2. Ocean Waterfall (wallpaper)

2 thoughts on “The destiny of a river

Leave a comment