Ranjish hi sahi… (Disappointment though it is…) – Mehdi Hassan – Ahmed Faraz poem

Translation:

Disappointment though it is, come if only it’s to give me some pain..
close in, even if it’s just to abandon me again…

Albeit a relation what once used to be, does not remain…
turn-up if just for sake of worldly traditions you maintain…

To whom all I must justify the cause of separation as certain…
since it’s me who you ignore; for society’s sake, come and feign…

Till now, in my stupid heart, expectations for you remain…
breeze in, if only to slip my last lamp of hope in drain…

Too long have I been deprived of the pathos of disdain…
oh calmness of life, show-up if only to make me weep again..

Show some courtesy to an extent of love, that I contain…
you too appear someday to cheer up the fan…

I agree, for love to be concealed, only a beloved can…
though in secret reach someday, solely to make a complain…

Just like for not coming you gather excuses so mundane…
likewise for once be here, to never leave me again…

– Original poetry by Ahmed Faraz, rendition by ghazal maestro Mehdi Hassan.

18 thoughts on “Ranjish hi sahi… (Disappointment though it is…) – Mehdi Hassan – Ahmed Faraz poem

  1. Pingback: Perseverance | Serenades of a dreamer...
  2. “Till now, in my stupid heart, expectations for you remain…
    breeze in, if only to slip my last lamp of hope in drain…

    Too long have I been deprived of the pathos of disdain…
    oh calmness of life, show-up if only to make me weep again..”

    So charming, and such wonderfully said.

    • It’s incomparable Ahmed Faraz. The original is beyond amazing… I love this poem. In translation, I tried to do justice with his words… but I know due to my nature, I can’t help but go some liberal. I hope it still preserves the sanctity of original. 🙂

      • Do you know of any published English translations of any Ahmad Faraz collections?? I need it for research.

      • Hello Nafisa, thanks for visiting the blog. I don’t know of any other collection of translation than one by Michael Burch.

        If you want any specific poem or few to be translated or interpreted for your research let me know I can give it a shot.

  3. I love the part ‘ye akhri shamein bhi bhujany ke lye aa’ and ‘Too long have I been deprived of the pathos of disdain’ and ‘Show some courtesy to an extent of love, that I contain’ and ‘maana ke muhabbat ka chupana hae muhabbat- and then ‘though in secret reach someday, solely to make a complain’…Oh, this is just SO amazing.
    ‘Jesay tmhen atey haen na aney ke bahany, aese hi kisi din naa jany ke ly aa’ is the best part.

  4. Pingback: Chupke Chupke Raat Din – Ghulam Ali (Longing in secret, those days and nights) | Serenades of a dreamer...
  5. Pingback: Rafta Rafta Woh Meri Hasti Ka Saman Ho Gaye (Unconsciously she became a reason of existence) | Serenades of a dreamer...
  6. Pingback: Main Khayal Hoon Kisi Aur Ka (I’m a thought of someone else) | Serenades of a dreamer...
  7. Pingback: Hungama Hai Kyon Barpa (Why is the chaos growing?) | Serenades of a dreamer...
  8. Too long have I been deprived of the pathos of disdain…
    oh calmness of life, show-up if only to make me weep again..

    This is one of my favourite ghazal by Ahmed Faraz. And you have done a good job with the translation. 🙂

  9. Thankyou, yes. Please can you contact me on Facebook. I would like some help with the interpretations of two Chosen poems.

    (Nafisa bint Muhammad)

Leave a comment