Never did I crave before, for your presence as such (Tere baare mein jab socha nahin tha)

– Famous ghazal by maestro Jagjit Singh (part of his album Saher, released in year 2000).

Translation:

Never did I crave before,
for your presence as such.
Though, felt lonely before,
but not in an essence as such.

Did converse a lot late-night
with picture I kept of yours,
Though, my room had mirror too,
but not an intense as such.

Whole ocean failed to extinguish
my fire, my thirst,
When I did surf the dessert,
never faced a negligence as such.

Amidst calling turns
to argue and later to make up,
Who’d imagined, we’d end up
extending our distance as such…

Rumor is, one has stumbled now
upon a rest eternal.
Same, who did never encounter before
the patience as such.

– Dedicated to a phrase: ”

Tere baare mein jab socha nahin tha
Main tanha tha magar itana nahi tha

Teri tasvir se karata tha baate
Mere kamare me aaina nahi tha

Samadar ne mujhe pyasa hi rakha
Mai jab seharaa me thaa pyasaa nahi tha

Manane-ruthane ke khel me ham
Bichhad jayege ye socha nahi tha

Suna hai band kar li us ne akhe
Kai raato se vo soyaa nahi tha

– Original poem by poet: Meraj Faizabadi.

Urdu version:

تیرے بارے میں جب سوچا نہیں تھا
میں تنہا تھا مگر اتنا نہیں تھا

تیری تصویر سے کرتا تھا باتیں
میرے کمرے میں آئینہ نہی تھا

سمندر نے مجھے پیاسا ہی رکھا
میں جب صحرا میں تھا پیاسا نہیں تھا

منانے روٹھنے کے کھیل میں ہم
بیچ ’ ہر جائینگے یہ سوچا نہیں تھا

سنا بند کر لی اس نے آنکھیں
کئی راتوں سے وہ سویا نہی تھا

– معراج فیض آبادی

Leave a comment