What am I?

What am I, if not a dancer around the dancers?

What am I, if not a dancer seeking a dance in infinity?

My heart is a cipher, you are a security.
What am I if not obscure before clarity?
A labyrinthian maze at adventure’s verge.
Whirlpool of walls aching for some sanity.

My heart is a moon, you are a Sun to it.
What am I if not a blip before infinity?
A dead rock oblivious of a life’s perch.
Wasteland seeking stature of desirability.

My heart is a face, you are a smile to it.
What am I if not passive before prosperity?
A shadow in a crowd trifling with the dust.
Wanderer lusting to come across destiny.

My heart is a word, you are a voice in it.
What am I if not lost before an intensity?
A collection of letters behold in a clutch.
Scribblings yearning to posses an identity.

My heart is a time and you are a life in it.
What am I if not a beat before a longevity?
A flow of moments never amounting to much.
Stream on slope longing to become entity.

My heart is a field, you are a rain to it.
What am I if not a void before serenity?
A barren dish holding an age old grudge.
Empty land craving delight in serendipity.

My heart is a lute and you are a melody.
What am I if not a dream before reality?
A blunt instrument starving a warm touch.
Cacophony desiring to become a symphony.

What am I,
if not a part that seeks a whole to dive in?
What am I not,
should you accept me and sink me with-in.

What am I, if not a dancer around the dancers?

What am I, if not a dancer among the dancers in proximity?

 

– Dedicate to the beloved, who the lover yearns for in each moment.

Art/ Image credits:

1. The Dancing Darvesh by Areesha Khuwaja
2. Whirling Dervish (sunk in colors) – Facebook\Mevlana

 

6 thoughts on “What am I?

  1. The last stanza: What am I/if not a part that seeks a whole to dive in?/What am I not/should you accept me and sink me with-in/ is probably the strongest. I loved it, no surprise there. Thank you for sharing 🙂

Leave a comment