Chahta hoon… (I wish…)

Translated poem:

Wish I – to you, it’s confessed and revealed…
What I wish hard to keep from you concealed…

Lie to me – you too occasionally – I wish…
I too wanna say: “With you, I often agreed”.

Place you got a window in your drawing…
I wish to have there – a door conceived…

These play-pretends are mocking my soul…
What if I now wish truly to appear pleased…?

Wish I nothing but best to the achievers of love…
I just wanna pass yet day another unfamished…

I must bid farewell now to our union my love…
I wish you to summon me as a memory relived…

— Translation dedicated to those who wish to keep pain concealed, yet want emotions revealed.

Original poem:

Tumhein bas yah bataana chahta hoon
main tumse kya chhupaana chahta hoon

Kabhi mujhse bhi koi jhooth bolo
main haan mein haan milaana chahta hoon

Ye jo khidki hai naqshe mein tumhaare
yahan main dar banana chahta hoon

Adaakaari bada dukh de rahi hai
main sachmuch muskurana chahta hoon

Ameeri ishq ki tumko mubarak
main bas khaana kamaana chahta hoon

Mujhe tumse bichadna hi padega
main tumko yaad aana chahta hoon

Original poem by: Fahmi Badayuni

Reference:

https://www.rekhta.org/ghazals/tumhen-bas-ye-bataanaa-chaahtaa-huun-fahmi-badayuni-ghazals

Leave a comment