No confidant breaths here (Koi ham-nafas nahi hai)


http://domaze.net/watch?v=1G4m3ZHC7qY

– Performed by ghazal maestro, Ghulam Ali sb.

Translation:

(I inquire my own address, whomever I encounter now a days,
in search of your doorstep it seems, I surpassed all pathways…
Since you have tested now, breaking the mirror of my heart.
tell me one thing, what did you find in there except your face?)

No confidant breaths here, here no conservator exists…
Once a heart confided in me, now only a resenter exists…

At no other venue ever, such intense the tormentor exists…
Heart’s torment is royalty, mates, here no commoner exists.

From dull blacks of my eyes, inquire, true state of my soul,
One can only know a person real, when no performer exists.

Call a gaze to shower here, ask tresses to spare some shade.
Amidst this constant blaze of Sun, here no shelter exists.

Treading on these very pebbles, come closer if you may,
On a pathway to my home, no enchanted barrier exists…

– Dedicated to one that heart confides in…

— Only in singing rendition:
(Koi milta hai to ab apna pata puuchhta hun,
mei teri khoj mei tujh se bhi paray ja nikla,
tor kar dekh liya aayena -e- dil tunay,
teri soorat k siwa bata aur kia nikla?)

ko_ii ham-nafas nahii.n hai ko_ii raazadaa.N nahii.n hai
faqat ik dil thaa apanaa so vo meharabaa.N nahii.n hai

kisii aur Gam me.n itanii Khalish-e-nihaa.N nahii.n hai
Gam-e-dil meraa rafiiqo Gam-e-raayegaa.N nahii.n hai

merii ruuh kii haqiiqat mere aa.Nsuo.n se puuchho
meraa majalisii tabassum meraa tarjumaa.N nahii.n hai

kisii aa.Nkh ko sadaa do kisii zulf ko pukaaro
ba.Dii dhuup pa.D rahii hai ko_ii saayebaa.N nahii.n hai

inhii.n pattharo.n pe chal kar agar aa sako to aao
mere ghar ke raaste me.n ko_ii kahakashaa.N nahii.n hai

– Original poem by Mustafa Zaidi.

Urdu version:

کوئی ہم نفس نہیں ہے ، کوئی رازداں نہیں ہے
فقط ایک دل تھا اپنا سو وہ مہرباں نہیں ہے

کسی اور غم میں اتنی خلش نہاں نہیں ہے،
غم دل مرے رفیقو! غم رائیگاں نہیں ہے

مری روح کی حقیقت مرے آنسوؤں سے پوچھو
مرا مجلسی تبسم مرا ترجماں نہیں ہے

کسی زلف کو پکارو ، کسی آنکھ کو صدا دو
بڑی دھوپ پڑ رہی ہے کوئی سائباں نہیں ہے

انہیں پتھروں پہ چل کہ اگر آ سکو تو آؤ
میرے گھر کے راستے میں کوئی کہکشاں نہیں ہے

مصطفی زیدی –

Also performed by famous ghazal singer Munni Begum, live in small gathering:
http://tune.pk/video/4633336/muni-begum-koi-hamnafas-nahein-hai-ptv-live-

Special thanks to both my mom and Miss Aima Jamal, for making me come to know more about this beautiful poem…

2 thoughts on “No confidant breaths here (Koi ham-nafas nahi hai)

Leave a comment