Your Adrift Memory (Khoyi Hui Yaad)

“Dhoop Kinare” –  ‘At the edge of Sunshine’

This one’s one of my favorite poetic lines, sung by Nayaar Noor in one of my favorite shows “Dhoop Kinare” written by Haseena Moin, originally released in year 1987.

Last night, under a quilt of darkness,
walked in on me – your adrift memory.
As in the lands of a barren wilderness;
makes its way – the echoes of spring.
Or as in the desert of the solitude,
sneaks in quietly – the gentlest of winds.
Like in an affliction deep of a diseased,
out of a blue – the solace chimes in.

– Dedicated to my rekindled love of nostalgic Faiz.

Raat yun dil mein teri, khoyi hui yaad aayi
Jaise viraane mein chupke se bahaar aa jaye
Jaise sahraon mein haule se chale baad-ae-naseem
Jaise bimaar ko be-wajaah quraar aa jaaye

– Original lines written by my favorite poet: Faiz Ahmad Faiz

In no way I can forget to mention how my favorite poet: Agha Shahid Ali has translated it beautifully…

Last night your faded memory came to me
As in the wilderness spring comes quietly,
As, slowly, in the desert, moves the breeze,
As, to a sick man, without cause, comes peace.

Translation by Agha Shahid Ali
Arabic Dubbed 'Dhoop Kinare' To Air In Saudi Arabia - Dramabaaz
“Dhoop Kinare” –  ‘At the edge of Sunshine’ – PTV 1987

2 thoughts on “Your Adrift Memory (Khoyi Hui Yaad)

  1. Hello Ali
    Just discovered your blog and I’m totally pleased. Haven’t read many posts yet but you are doing a wonderful job.
    I myself have a blog, I’m translating urdu poetry into French. Because we might find a number of sources and translations towards English but for French or other European languages it is another story. I hope French readers get to know about urdu and its poetry too.
    My blog :
    Desmotsvenusdeloin.wordpress.com
    Keep up the great work 👍

    • Thank you, Sarah. It’s great meeting a fellow lover of poetry and translations. Would love to see you translating my English ones in the French if you deem them apt.

      Looking forward to hear more…

Leave a comment