Spilling colors in flowers, breeze of new spring continues (Gulon mein rang bhare baad-e-naubahaar chalay)

– Live rendition by Ghazal maestro Mehdi Hassan saheb.

Translation:

Spilling colors in flowers, breeze of new spring does continue.
Come along you too so that business of garden does continue.

Crimson cage is in the gloom from morning, please request the wind.
For sake of God, somewhere remembrance of beloved must continue…

For once at least Oh morning, let corners of your lips be my excuse to flourish.
For once at least allow night to slip under fragrance of your tresses to continue…

Whatever befell over me I kept hold, still in a night of separation,
At least my eyes in your respect, allowed my tears to continue…

So what, even if the arrow did cross the eye for a moment?
State to ponder is, when piercing the chest it lives to continue…

In court of the beloved, exhibits of affection are requested.
Watch me, how tying the torn collars together, I continue…

Nor one’s here a Christ, nor holds any resemblance to Mansur,
For what then, towards a gallows, push of people gets continue?

Not a place matched the bar worthy to behold a solace (Faiz),
Leaving lane of beloved, right to gallows one would continue.

– Dedicated to the vacuum that’s left in heart due to a beloved’s absence…

Gulon mein rang bhare baad-e-naubahaar chalay
Chale bhi aao ke gulshan ka kaarobaar chalay

Qafas udaas hai yaaron sabaa se kuchh tau kaho
Kahin to bahr-e-Khuda aaj zikr-e-yaar chalay

kabhi tau subah tere kunj-e-lab se ho aaghaz
Kabhi to shab sar-e-kaakul se mushakbaar chalay

Jo hum pe guzri so guzri magar shab-e-hijraan
Hamaare ashk teri aaqibat sanwaar chalay

Hua jo teer-e-nazar neem kash to kya hasil
maza to jab hai ke sinay ke aar paar chalay
(contributed for singing rendition by Faiz Saheb’s friend: Kunwar Mohinder Singh Bedi Sahar)

huzuur-e-yaar huyii daftar-e-junuun kii talab
girah men le ke girebaan kaa taar taar chalay

ham na iisaa na Sarmad o Mansur
log kyuu.n le ke suu-e-daar chalay
(not part of original, another couplet for singing rendition)

Maqaam Faiz koi raah mein jacha hi nahin
Jo kue yaar se nikle to suu-e-daar chalay

Urdu version:

گلوں میں رنگ بھرے، بادِ نو بہار چلے
چلے بھی آؤ کہ گلشن کا کاروبار چلے

قفس اداس ہے یارو، صبا سے کچھ تو کہو
کہیں تو بہرِ خدا آج ذکرِ یار چلے

کبھی تو صبح ترے کنجِ لب سے ہو آغاز
کبھی تو شب سرِ کاکل سے مشکبار چلے

جو ہم پہ گزری سو گزری مگر شبِ ہجراں
ہمارے اشک تری عاقبت سنوار چلے

چلا جو تیر نظر نیمکش تو کیا حاصل؟
مزا تو جب ہے که سینے کے آر پار چلے
(مهندر سنگهـ بیدی)

حضورِ‌ یار ہوئی دفترِ جنوں کی طلب
گرہ میں لے کے گریباں کا تار تار چلے

مقام فیضؔ کوئی راہ میں جچا ہی نہیں
جو کوئے یار سے نکلے تو سوئے دار چلے

– Original poetry by esteemed Urdu poet who needs no introduction, Faiz Ahmad Faiz.

Mehdi Hassan’s play-back version:

References:

Urdu Alfaz – Gulon Mein Rang Bhare

4 thoughts on “Spilling colors in flowers, breeze of new spring continues (Gulon mein rang bhare baad-e-naubahaar chalay)

  1. This is Beautiful….!!
    I have no words, seriously! I have read this one completely for the first time. Thank you so much for sharing it.
    I thought the translated version was beautiful and after every stanza I kept sighing :P. Great work Mr. Sohani!
    Then I read the urdu version and my my, this language never fails to amaze me. Everytime I read something new, I fall in love with it all over again. How can a language be so beautiful enough to give you goosebumps.
    Thank you once again for sharing this gem. Hoping to read some more amazing ghazals here 🙂

    • Thank you, Miss Maqsood… your words are such a boast, that sometimes I start avidly looking for a next one to translate… 🙂

      Urdu is indeed a great language… Language of purity and love… And so it happens to me whenever I read expressions meticulously weaved in it, I helplessly fall for it all over again…

      I hope I get better understanding of Urdu and do something for my love of the language.

Leave a comment